My Photo
Location: United States

Julie graduated from Creighton University with a major in dance and Theology and taught for several years at an inner-city school in Milwaukee. With a desire to expand her knowledge of the arts and spirituality, she attended St. John’s University in Collegeville and completed a Masters in Theology and Liturgical Studies. Over the years, her quest to merge diverse religious beliefs and practices through the commonalities of love and peaceful living, led her to travel, live, and study with shaman practitioners, herbal healers, Native American medicine women, Buddhist priests and other earth-based spiritual teachers. Through these experiences and experiences with global metaphysical teachings, she learned to honor the eternal source of love in all people.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Phases involved in Grief

Although there are many theories about the emotional path grief takes most grief therapists agree about the general phases involved.
Denial:  “This can’t be happening to me.”
Anger:  “Why is this happening?  Who is to blame?”
Bargaining:  “Make this not happen, and in return I will____.”
Depression:   “I’m too sad to do anything.”
Acceptance:  “I’m at peace with what happened.”

Keep in mind these phases don’t have to take a set order.  Grieving can be very much like a roller coaster full of ups, downs, highs and lows.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home